Village of Spencer Minutes of Regular Board of Trustees Meeting June 12, 2024 – 6:30 P.M. Spencer Municipal Complex

President Toufar called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Roll Call

Trustees Carolfi, Jicinsky, Schafer, Krause, White, and Toufar were present. Hoes was absent.

(Schafer)(Jicinsky) was carried to move items 12 and 13 up in the schedule.

Max Tibbett from Town & Country spoke about Tri-City Concrete's pay request.

(Jicinsky)(Krause) was carried by unanimous roll call vote to approve Pay Request #3 from Tri-City Concrete Contractors for the Madison Street Project for \$219,800.53.

(Schafer)(Krause) was carried by unanimous roll call vote to approve current vouchers.

Approval of Minutes

(Carolfi)(Hoes) was carried to dispense with the readings of the regular May 13th and special May 29 board meeting minutes and approve them as printed.

There were no announcements.

Public Comments

Danica Plaskey requested the Village look at installing bike lanes in the Village. Her request was refered to the Streets and Sidewalk Committee.

Ethan Perrine presented the Public Works report.

Chief Shawn Bower presented the Police report.

President Toufar had no report.

There was no old business.

New Business

Ben Wojcik presented the Lions Club plans for the Lions Shelter addition. (Krause)(White) was approved to allow the Lions Club to proceed.

(Carolfi)(Jicinsky) was carried to approve Resolution 2024-5 "2023 Compliance Maintenance Annual Report".

(Schafer)(Carolfi) was carried by unanimous roll call vote to approve the Ehlers Public Financial Advisor proposal.

(Schafer)(Carolfi) was carried to approve Ordinance 24-3 creating 172-16 Backyard Chickens.

(Carolfi)(Jicinsky) was carried to approve a "Class A" fermented malt beverage and intoxicating liquor license for Kwik Trip at 410 S Pacific Street.

(Krause)(Carolfi) was carried to approve "Class B" fermented malt beverage and intoxicating liquor licenses for Nuts Deep II North at 103 E Clark Street, My Brother's Place at 113 E Clark Street, and Gorst Events at 901 N Pacific Street.

(Carolfi)(Krause) was carried to approve Operator's Licenses for William Gorst, Becky Gorst, Kole Herman, Trish Aldrich, Jody Sandley, Tracey Ackman, Sean Doepke, Savannah Giles, Michael Hager, Stephanie, Kaiser, Dawn Foss, Michelle Cole, Kenneth Frank, Marilyn Immerfall, Mollie Dayton, Roberta Schneider, Patricia Frisch, Larry Wilson, Dion Behm, Karen Vetterkind, Katie Severson, Holly Weyer, Danielle Reuter, Heidi Strack, Kati Schultz, Paige Dielmann, Amanda Vanderleest, Brittany Johnson, Serena Nauer, Ashley Prusinski, Maria Schoenfuss, Kailyn Anderson, and Dayna Schutz.

(Carolfi)(Jicinsky) was carried to approve Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retail License applications for Dollar General at 208 S Pacific Street and Kwik Trip at 410 S Pacific Street.

(Carolfi)(Schafer) was carried to approve Mobile Home Park License applications for 52 Properties at 300 S Haslow Street and RHP Properties at 211 E Willow Drive.

(Schafer)(Krause) was carried to approve a Junk and Salvage Yard License application for First Choice Recycling at 504 E Willow Drive.

(Schafer)(Carolfi) was carried to approve the proposal from American Asphalt to mill and pave Willow Drive between the railroad tracks and Monroe Street during the Hwy 13 project for \$17,120.70.

Administrator Helgestad presented the Clerks Report.

Committee Reports

Finance and Personnel Committee – In Chairman Hoes' absence, Helgestad provided a verbal report of the recent Finance and Personnel meeting.

Utilities and Equipment Committee – Chairman Schafer had no report.

Parks and Buildings Committee – Chairman White had no report.

Health and Emergency Government Committee – Chairman Krause had no report.

Economic Development and Main Street Committee – Chairman Carolfi had no report.

Streets and Sidewalks Committee – Chairman Jicinsky had no report. Jicinsky asked for a future Streets and Sidewalk Committee meeting to be scheduled.

(Carolfi)(Krause) was carried to adjourn at 7:56 p.m.

Harry Toufar, Village President

Chris Helgestad, Clerk